The good thing about email is that you get responses quicker and you don’t have to spend so much money. The bad thing about it is that it’s quicker for people to reject you.

Flight Centre’s already budgeted their sponsorship for another organization. YSEI doesn’t fund education. The Foundation for Young Australians has closed up their Opportunity Bank because they’re still working out criteria. They’ve all wished me luck…but no dice on actual sponsorship.

Some others I have to wait a month (or more) for – Virgin and Apple, mainly. I’m more excited about Virgin. I’ve grown to admire the company and Richard Branson since I read his books last year, and I think the values of Virgin and the KaosPilots go very well together. I don’t mind being a “Virgin Girl” (all other uses of the word notwithstanding).

Huh, as I write this, one of the people I contacted from Malaysia Airlines just replied:

Hi Tiara,

Personally I am very pleased to see such enthusiasm and drive in someone at
such a young age. Unfortunately, I do not have discretion over sponsorships,
hence I have forwarded your email to my colleague (cc-ed in this email) who
oversees sponsorship, to attend to your request.

En Azidin will reply to you in due course.

All the best!

Haha, nice!

I went to the Flight Centre Expo in South Bank last month and grabbed the flyers of companies promoting flights to Copenhagen. I contacted Thai, Singapore, and Korean Air, as well as MAS, which flies to Stockholm. Qantas requires a faxed-in form, and British Airways doesn’t do complimentary flights anymore. Maybe I’ll try the European airlines next.

The pile of Nos I’m getting is rather frustrating. I wish someone would finally say YES. Yes, you are awesome, we like your idea, here’s your support. It seems no one wants to be the first to budge. I have no idea whether to keep persuading them on, or just move on. I don’t know what else I could do to make my chances better. With all the other commitments I have, I’m getting pretty tired. Argh.

I just got hired for a job in promotions. Anyone want math teaching software? Come to Mt Gravatt on Tuesday, I’ll be there in the afternoon. Hopefully this wouldn’t necessarily fall in my “strange silly money making ways” list, though I won’t be surprised if it does. I have an audition for pub trivia host on Sunday – $100/hour! Sweet!

ANYONE want to be the first contributor? the one thing I need most of all at this point is a plane ticket.

Also, I’ve watched another couple of KP application videos (applications close tomorrow). DAMN they are GOOD. Such good cinematography. mine looks amateur in comparison.

